clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Chicago Area Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated for UNESCO World Heritage Sites

New, 2 comments

A group of ten Frank Lloyd Wright buildings, including the Robie House in Hyde Park and the Unity Temple in Oak Park, have been nominated to become UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The full slate of Wright structures, including Fallingwater and the Hollyhock House, would be the first examples of modern American architecture on the list and join 22 other American sites that already hold the designation, such as the Statue of Liberty and Independence Hall. They would also join 1007 iconic sites in 161 countries worldwide, such as the Taj Mahal and Pyramids of Giza, as well as outstanding examples of modern architecture such as the Sydney Opera House and the city of Brasilia. Seems like praise the famously proud Wright could accept. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell announced the nomination Friday, and the World Heritage Committee will make a decision by 2016.

Robie House

Unity Temple

·Tour the 10 Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated as UNESCO World Heritage Sites [Curbed National]
·Previous Frank Lloyd Wright coverage [Curbed Chicago]
·Previous Robie House coverage [Curbed Chicago]