clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ice Skating at Millennium Park Begins November 13

As the year continues to fly by, ice skating at Millennium Park is quickly approaching. The McCormick Tribune Ice Rink, which draws over 100,000 visitors annually, will officially open on Friday, November 13. While skating is free of charge, there is a $12 charge for renting a pair of skates. During weekdays, the rink along Michigan Avenue will be open from 12 p.m. to at 8 p.m. On Fridays, the rink will be open until 10 p.m. On weekends, the rink will be open from 10 a.m. until 10 p.m. until January when the hours change to 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Bust out the skates and get them sharpened up as winter is upon us and so is downtown ice skating.

From the city's website:

Regular Hours for the season are as follows:

Mondays-Thursdays, 12 Noon—8pm
Fridays, 12 Noon—10pm (ice skating lesson at 11am)
Saturdays (Nov. 14-Jan. 2), 10am—10pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
Saturdays (Jan. 9-March 5), 10am—9pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
Sunday, 10am—9pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)

Special Holiday Hours:

Thanksgiving Thursday, Nov. 26, 10am—4pm
Friday, Nov. 27, 10am—10pm
Christmas Eve, Thursday, Dec. 24, 10am—6pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
Christmas Day, Friday, Dec. 25, 10am—4pm (no ice skating lesson)
Saturday, Dec. 26 through Wednesday, Dec. 30, 10am—10pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
New Year's Eve, Thursday, Dec. 31, 10am—8pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
New Year's Day, Friday, Jan. 1, 10am—10pm (no ice skating lesson)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Monday, Jan. 18, 10am—8pm
Chicago Public Schools Closed (School Improvement Day), Friday, Feb. 5, 10am—10pm (ice skating lesson at 9am)
President's Day, Monday, Feb. 15, 10am—8pm

Free Skating Lessons

Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays, one hour before the rink opens.
Lessons and special programming (including speed demos, Noodle Hockey and ice dance demos) will be offered each day of Chicago Public School Winter Break, December 21–December 31, except December 25, one hour before the rink opens.

·Millennium Park's McCormick Tribune Ice Rink opens Friday, November 13 [City of Chicago]